“The Narrow Gate” Detailed Transcript

Original airdate 7/23/15

Based in CC transcript found at http://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/view_episode_scripts.php?tv-show=dominion-2014&episode=s02e03

Please forgive any formatting glitches.

I so wanted to give Gabriel a hug 🙂

———————————-

Claire voiceover (show intro) – 25 years ago, God disappeared. The archangel Gabriel decided he must destroy mankind to bring God back, but the archangel Michael stood against his brother and fought on the side of humanity. The war continues.

[Scenes from last week]

Laurel – The Prophet built the fire that protects us. It cannot go out.

Wes – Harper, I cannot let you put everyone else in danger.
[Michael and Laurel hearing Wes shoot Harper]

General Riesen – I’m leaving Vega. [Voiceover – him leaving Vega] I’ve never stood still. I’m not about to start now.
[Zoe trying to stab Claire]
Claire – Guards!

[Guards arrest Zoe]

Guard – Drop your weapon!

Claire [talking to Zoe in jail] – Why try to kill me now?

Zoe – You live in a palace built with their bones.
[In New Delphi, at the door to the asylum]

Julian – There’s something in there that I want back.
Alex –Has anyone ever made it out alive? No, but there’s always a first time. You game?

———–

[It is dark inside the asylum. Woman screams – a light shines to reveal it is an eight-ball. Darkness punctuated with quick shots of eight-balls. Camera shot is outside the heavy metal door of the asylum again]

Alex – What’s in there?

Julian – The possessed. Human body wasn’t built for occupation. Some angels can’t bear its limits. They go mad. And we keep them in here. It’s an asylum and a prison for those who break our laws. So, a few days ago, an angel went mad and stole a key from me, took it in there. I sent some soldiers in to find it.
Good men, but none of them made it back. And I’d like you to bring it to me.
Alex – You want me to go into a madhouse full of insane angels with just a machete and a flashlight?

Julian – Chosen One is destined to become a great general, isn’t he? So prove it to me. Show me your markings are worth my alliance.
Noma – What’s the key for?

Julian – That’s my business. I mean, I’m looking for a powerful weapon, and you walk into my city claiming to be one. I mean, what are the odds?

Man – Julian.
Julian [turns around and then quickly to Alex before leaving] – Let’s see what you’re made of.
Pete – Alex, don’t go in there.
Alex – Listen, you heard him. This is the only way we’re getting an alliance. New Delphi has soldiers and Empyrean steel. It’s the only thing that can kill an archangel.
Noma – I’m going in with you.
Alex – No, Noma.
Noma – Alex, no way.
Alex – Look out for Pete. This city’s dangerous. I need you to keep Vega safe if I don’t make it out of here.
– [muffled demonic screaming]

Alex – I’ll do it. [Julian turns back] But I need you to get a message to Vega. Tell them Gabriel’s alive. The survivors of the human race are gonna need to stick together if we’re gonna kill Gabriel.
Julian – Done. So the angel in question will be wearing the key on a chain around his neck. If you find it, then keep moving. [Julian opens the door. Alex tosses his jacket to Pete, smiles at him, and walks inside] Good luck. [Julian bangs the door closed]

[Back in Vega – aerial view over the prison]

man over loudspeaker – Attention V-1 curfew is now in effect.
[We see a large pool of blood inside the jail. Claire rushes in and gasps at the sight of the blood and two dead soldiers]

Soldier – They were killed by V-1 rebels. Zoe Holloway escaped.
[Claire backs out of the cell]

[In Mallory. Michael marches up to Laurel, who is digging a grave in the outskirts of town.]

Michael – Laurel, Wes murdered that girl.
Laurel – Harper her name was Harper. And we had to do it, okay?

Michael – What? How can you say that?

Laurel – I needed her confession, all her secrets and all her sins. She wouldn’t tell me anything. I tried. Now that she’s dead, we’re safe. Whatever secrets she had died with her. She was the last one. Now I have everyone’s confession. I’m ready for the celebration.
Michael [grabs shovel away from her] – It doesn’t make sense. Why are these secrets so important? Why does everyone have to confess them to you? [She doesn’t answer. Michael has a revelation] After tonight, you’ll be gone. You need their secrets before then because it’s not a celebration. It’s a sacrifice. Isn’t it? Laurel, tell me I’m wrong.
Laurel – We have to do it. Every five years, the Prophet told us to do it, and I volunteered. [She grabs shovel back and continues to dig]
Michael -That grave isn’t for Harper.
Laurel – No. It’s for me.

[Opening credit]

[Alex cautiously makes his way through the asylum. He encounters a number of eight-balls. He finds several dead men with their eyes torn out].

[Cut to outside New Delphi. Gabriel is walking around in the treeline with the angel Janek]

Gabriel – When Vega sees their queen has fallen, they’ll lose hope, make it so much easier to wipe clean this filthy slate.

[An angel flies in to meet Gabriel and Janek]
Gabriel – Ah, Briathos. Could you get into Vega? [Briathos nods] Then go. You deserve a holiday. And you can bring back a souvenir, the head of Claire Riesen. [Briathos flies off] My army will be here by sundown. New Delphi won’t give us Alex. We’ll liberate him. [Janek doesn’t seem too enthusiastic about this plan.] There a problem?

Janek – You want to attack two cities at once? The last time we did that, Michael was at our side.
Gabriel – We don’t need him. I’ve learned a great deal since then. And when I’m done, Father will see who’s always been his most loyal son.

[Flashback to the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. Gabriel stands in the desert and walks up to a tent. Inside we see a silent robed woman standing next to a wooden cabinet. Inside are seven (?) double-handled jars with small gold ornaments on top as corks (?). Michael is strategizing using small clay models on a board]
Michael – Here, we strike here first.
Gabriel [walking in] – What, the temple? No. It’s a sanctuary. Spare it. Be merciful, Michael.
Michael – These people don’t deserve their God.
Gabriel – They are still Father’s children.
Michael – And yet he gives us the task of punishment. I will do as I see fit.
Gabriel – Brother, your blood is too hot.
Michael – And yours is too cool.
Gabriel [gesturing to those jars] – We should use the Amphorae. These vessels contain darkness to drive them to madness, brimstone to blind and burn, and blood to drown the survivors. The elements of God’s wrath are swift, clean, honorable.
Michael – Honor is to look one’s enemy in the eye. But you wouldn’t know that. [He slams the wooden cabinet shut] You’ve never killed a human with your bare hands. You send soldiers to battle and use the Amphorae, but it’s not the same. You don’t know the beauty of it. In winter, when blood spills on snow, it steams.

[Back in Mallory. Michael stares at the altar and turns to confront Laurel]

Michael – You’re insane.
Laurel – Michael.

Michael – You think I’m just gonna stand by and watch you kill yourself?

Laurel – I have to. One of us does. One of our leaders wouldn’t do it, and then the fire went out, and the possessed came in. They killed my friends until our leader did what he promised. Then the fire lit again, and we were safe.
Michael – You’re afraid God won’t return. So am I. You’ve let a false prophet take advantage of your fear.
Laurel – But I hear God’s voice. We all do.
Michael [angrily] – But I don’t! And if it were Father, I promise He would have something to say to me! Now I’m one of his children too.
Laurel – Michael, I have a responsibility. That mean anything to you?

Michael – It did, once.
[Back to flashback]

Michael – Father’s wrath must have a face. And that duty is mine. How say you, Lyrae?

Lyrae [ a male angel is sitting in the corner of the tend playing with a battle ax, juggling it]- A death is as glorious as birth. Why else would Father have made them mortal?

Gabriel – Michael, you value a higher angel’s counsel over your own brother’s?

Lyrae – Justice must be done. [Close-up to him tossing and catching the ax]
Gabriel – No, I won’t allow cruelty.

Lyrae – Father’s orders were to cast these sinners out into the darkness. I want them to suffer the limits of their bodies.
Gabriel [to Michael] – Spill blood, but do so with honor.
Michael – Always. [He leaves]

Gabriel [calling after him as Lyrae leaves as well] – Michael [pauses] Farewell, Sodom and Gomorrah.

[In Mallory, Michael is frustrated]

[Back to the asylum, where Alex continues to run into eight-balls. A female eight-ball kicks away his flashlight]

Eight-ball – here, that’s better. Are you afraid of the dark, soldier? Don’t be. It’s lovely in the dark.

[They tussle. Suddenly the flashlight turns on, probably from being kicked just right]

Eight-ball [in distress] – Ah! Turn out the light! Turn out the light!

[Alex takes a large gun from a corpse and uses it to shoot the eight-ball. He checks her neck – no key. Suddenly he hears other eight-balls]

Man’s voice – Over here.
[Alex follows a hooded man to a closed door. The man – Eli – bangs on the door]

Eli – Open up!

[Another hooded man opens the door and Eli and Alex run in]

Eli – You okay, man?

Alex – Yeah.
Eli – Who are you?

Alex – I’m from Vega.
Riesen [turning around and lowering his hood] – Vega?

Alex – General Riesen?

[Cut to Vega. A man in an electronics-laden room is working. His door buzzes. He looks up at security monitors. Claire is at his door. He buzzes her in and gets back to his soldering]

Claire – Wow. [chuckles] I didn’t think it was possible, Gates, but you have managed to turn this place from charming hovel to just hovel.
Gates – Well, hello to you too, Claire Riesen. And all this is the price of genius. A little method, little madness, you know. To what do I owe this honor?

Claire [walks over to a pile of baseballs and grabs one] – I have a favor to ask.
Gates – Oh, straight to the point, just like your pop. Well, I’ll try not to take it personally, but I’m kind of busy, so

Claire – How busy? [She shows him a bottle of liquor. That gets his attention. He shuts off his music and walks over to her]

Gates – Where’d you find that?

Claire – My dad never came empty-handed.
Gates – You are a quick study. Last time the General brought you here, I don’t think you were even old enough to have a drink. It’s been years, right? [He takes the bottle, unstops it and smells]

Claire – Yeah, well, things change. Gates, I need you to find someone for me. Zoe Holloway, she’s a V-1, wants to overthrow my government.
Gates – What, did she say that in a strongly worded letter?

Claire – No, she tried to kill me. She escaped prison, and my soldiers can’t track her. But I bet you can.
Gates – [laughs] Claire, I’d love to help you, but I’m an engineer. I power the city. I build you a bomb here and there, but I don’t play detective.
Claire – Come on, Gates. You and my dad built this city. You know it better than anyone. You could find her. Please, it’s important.
Gates – Yes, it is, but I can’t, not now, sorry. [He tries to get back to his soldering]
Claire – Gates, I’m not asking.
Gates – [chuckles] I thought you said that this was a favor.
Claire – Yeah, well, now it’s an order. Tinker with that thing later.
Gates – You know what? This bad boy is a processing core from a generator that powers three floors in Agri-tower B, all stalks of corn. It went kaboom at 3:00 a.m. So, I don’t fix this, we can kiss those crops good-bye.
Claire – There are rumors of a rebellion, Gates. You know what those grow up into? Civil wars.
Gates [smiles to himself] – It’s the curse of the Bambino. [Claire looks at him with a blank stare. She doesn’t get the reference] The Boston Red Sox traded away Babe Ruth and bought the team 86 years of bad luck. Michael was our Babe Ruth. After he left, everything fell apart. I mean, he was the only angel that gave a damn about us.
Claire – Yeah, well, maybe we never really knew him.
Gates – Look, give me an hour, and I’ll see what I can do, okay?

Claire [handing him the baseball] – Thanks.

[Back in the asylum in New Delphi]
Alex – General Riesen, what the hell are you doing down here?

Eli – “General”? Sam, you know this guy? Why’d he call you Sam?
Alex – Wait. Who the hell are you?

Eli – Eli. I’m a prisoner, like him.
Alex – Wait. W-why is he calling you Sam?

Riesen – That’s my name now. I didn’t want to tell him who I really was. Too dangerous. I’ve been down here for weeks. I am the leader of Vega.
Alex – Why are you a prisoner down here?

Riesen – I killed a monster, an eight-ball. Claire my Claire, is she okay?

Alex – She’s fine. I left to protect her and the baby.
Riesen – My daughter, she’s pregnant? You just left her on her own?

Alex – I told you, I left to keep her safe. I didn’t just run away like you and Michael did. [Riesen looks surprised] There’s something down here I need to get. Some eight-ball has a key around his neck. It’s a round copper disc. But I’m starting to think it’s bullshit, and I was just sent down here to die.
Riesen – No, I’ve seen it, out there. But, no, look, it’s dangerous. So, no, just get us out of here, please.
Alex – No, show me the eight-ball now.

[Outside New Delphi]

Janeck – What’s taking so long?

Gabriel – Never fear. I have the perfect plan of attack in mind.

[Back to flashback. In the distance a battle rages. People scream, a city burns. Gabriel watches from the door of the tent in horror. He turns away and crushes one of the military chess pieces to dust.]

Gabriel – Michael

[He slams what’s left of the figure onto the table. He hears a man’s voice behind him. It is a survivor]

Arif – My lord, my lord! Help me! The angels have come. They’ll slaughter us all.
Gabriel – No, no, no, no, no. You are not safe here, friend. You must go, go now.
Arif – No, no, no, you must come too, or they’ll kill you also! How we’ve angered God, for him to let his angels upon us! Ah! [He backs into the table. He turns around and sees that he has stumbled upon the hq of his enemy. He draws his sword] You’re one of them. Aah! [He attacks Gabriel, who easily avoids the blade. He has no desire to hurt Arif]

Gabriel – Now! Go, friend, go now. I will not hurt you.
Arif – You’re not my friend! Aah! [Asif attacks again and Gabriel pulls his sword in self-defense. Asif charges at him and Gabriel stabs him. Gabriel drops his sword as he looks at the blood on his hands.]

[Back in Mallory, in the stable. Laurel is holding a large knife and staring at it. Michael walks in.

Michael – Are you afraid?

Laurel – No, I am not.

Michael – Is this it? [Takes the knife from her] This is what you’ll use?

Laurel – Why are you here, Michael?

Michael [He gives her back the knife] – I’m leaving, tonight. I know I can’t change your mind, but I won’t watch you die. I can’t.
Laurel – I wouldn’t have asked you to.
Michael – I can’t save you, but there is someone I can. Alex, the boy who’s like a son. He needs me.
Some promises can’t be broken. [He takes Laurel’s hand] You taught me that. Good-bye, Laurel. [He turns and begins to walk away. He stops when she speaks but does not turn around]
Laurel – When you came here, you were lost. I saw in your eyes, you were running. If you go back out there, please promise me you’ll be careful. [He nods then continues to walk away] I know you don’t believe in the things we do, but I hope you find something you can believe in. [He stops and turns back]
Michael – I have. Now I know Father’s still out there. I have faith, because He meant for me to come here to find what I’d lost, to find you. The world ended, but all that was good and beautiful didn’t die with it. [He gently cradles her face in his hands] You are afraid.
Laurel – Yes. [They kiss, pull away briefly to look at each other, and then kiss more passionately

[Back in Vega. Gates walks into House Riesen, holding a map]
Claire – Hey, what’s going on?

Gates – I found your rebels.
Claire – You found Zoe? Where is she?

Gates – – Uh-huh. Some abandoned warehouse behind the Flamingo. I have my eye on every watt in the city. So when V-1s siphon off a little juice to power a lightbulb or a space heater, I let it go, but this time

Claire – Huh, you do that?

Gates [helping himself to Claire’s lunch]- Yeah, why? You want me to stop?

Claire – No, just didn’t know you did it.
Gates – Okay. So this warehouse is just lit up like Times Square. Someone in there just started using massive wattage in there, way more than a lightbulb. It could be computers, radios, communications. If your gal’s trying to start a revolution –

Claire – Yeah, I get it, command central. Now we can get Zoe.
Gates – Jackpot.

[An amazing sunset over Mallory. People gather in the church. Laurel is at the front door greeting people. She is in a simple white dress and boots. Michael watches from the other side of the bonfire]
Man – Thank you so much.
Laurel – Welcome.
man – Here, sit.

Once the last person has entered, Laurel looks at Michael, then turns to enter. Michael turns away and starts to walk, but he hears his own voice in his head…

[Back to the flashback.]
Michael’s voice off screen – Gabriel, I need you.

[Gabriel is inside the tent. Suddenly Lyrae is shoved inside]

Michael [really pissed at the bloody Lyrae, who is on the ground] – You’ll pay for what you’ve done! Savage, barbarian. Unspeakable. Men gutted, hung by their entrails, babes torn limb from limb before their mothers, and he delighted in it! Father asked for their death, not their torture! Gabriel!

[Gabriel silently turns around, his sword in one hand, the other hand covered in blood. He raises his hands. Michael sees the blood and the corpse. He is shocked]

Michael – Gabriel you have killed with your own hands for the first time.
Gabriel – Brother.
[Back to Mallory. Inside the church, Mallory is talking to her people]

Laurel – He warned us never to leave the safety of Mallory, our home [people murmuring] And to rid our community of secret and sin with confession and sacrifice. [Her people look sad. She picks up the knife and faces the altar while preparing to stab herself in the heart] And I, Laurel, have taken those secrets and sins into my heart. As I die, so do they. [She prepares to stab herself, but hesitates. Just then, we hear Michael’s voice from the doorway]
Michael – Stop! [Everyone turns around] I’m here to take your place.

[Back to outside New Delphi. It is a clear night and Gabriel looks up at the stars. He sees the constellation Lyra – or something like Lyra, as there is at least one extra star in it. But I digress]
Michael’s voice [in Gabriel’s memory] – Gabriel, what have you done?

[Back to the flashback]

[Gabriel can’t find the words. Lyrae stands up]

Lyrae – Archangel.
Michael [ backhands Lyrae] – Stay down! For eons, we’ve shed human blood on Father’s command. It’s a terrible task, but it’s ours alone. But the unholy joy you took with your duty shocked me more than any!

Lyrae – Is such joy for archangels alone? For I gleaned it all from you, Michael. Your brutality was a glorious inspiration. You are my muse, Michael!

[Michael pulls out his sword and threatens Lyrae]

Gabriel [a horrified expression on his face] – Brother

Lyrae – No, Michael, you wouldn’t.
Michael [standing behind the kneeling Lyrae with his sword over the other’s back] – Lyrae, you have broken the will of God and must be punished.
Lyrae – No, Michael.
Michael – I cast you down to the lowest sphere of Heaven.
Lyrae – Gabriel. Gabriel, stop him. [Gabriel turns away]
Michael – You will no longer hold the exalted rank of higher angel, thereby your body shall be taken from you.
Lyrae – Stop him, Gabriel.
Michael – I banish your spirit to the cold ether of the outer sphere
Lyrae – Oh, what satire

Michael – Of the myriad disembodied angels

Lyrae – that you should be judge and executioner.
Michael – To the darkness, far from the warmth of Father’s light. [He raises his sword]
Lyrae – Gabriel! [Micahel plunges the blade into Lyrae’s back. Lyrae screams and a golden light emerges from his mouth and flies upward. It has a human face as it disappears through the roof of the tent. Michael pulls his sword out and Lyrae’s lifeless body falls forward onto the ground]

Gabriel [staring at his brother] – Michael

[Back to Mallory]

Michael – You can’t do this. It won’t work.
Wes [standing up and getting in Michael’s face] – Get out of here, you son of a bitch.
Laurel – No, wait. Why won’t it work?
Michael – You have to take the secrets and sins of this town into your heart, all of them. Well, you haven’t taken mine. [He turns around and addresses the community] Am I not part of your town? You gave me shelter, fought the enemy shoulder to shoulder. So, unless she takes my secrets too, then all of this is for nothing.
Wes – You don’t belong here.
Laurel – No, he’s right. He’s one of us. Michael, will you confess your secrets and your sins to me?

Michael – I have killed. No. No, I have slaughtered. Cities so scorched, no life may ever grow again. My fury destroyed the innocent and the guilty, and those I loved. I was the one who passed judgment, but it’s I who must be judged. I have to take your place as sacrifice. You give me the secrets to carry. I’ll take them with me.
Laurel – Michael, you can’t. I won’t let you.
Michael – I’m not the man you think I am, but I can be if you’ll let me.
Wes – You’re crazy. It won’t work.
Laurel [turning to look at the altar. Outside we see the bonfire flare up] – It will work. Father just told me it would.

[Back in the Eight-ball asylum, Alex, Eli and Riesen are looking for the key. There is another corpse with no eyes]
Alex – Why do they take the eyes?

Riesen – They’re jealous of us. I came here once. It was a military defense bunker, big, like NORAD.
[coughing]

Alex – You don’t look so good.
Riesen – I’m sick. It’s my heart.
Alex – Did you know about the eight-balls before you came here, that they live peacefully with humans?

Riesen – Why would you think that?

Alex – Maybe somebody told you.
[They open a cell and find the male eight-ball with the key around his neck. He snarls at Alex and then escapes through a hole in the back of the cell. Alex chases him]

Eight-ball [in Lishepus0] – The key is mine! The key will protect me!

[Alex corners the eight-ball, who pulls key off his neck]

Alex – I’m gonna need that key. [Eight-ball swallows key] Ah, you son of a bi – [the eight-ball charges Alex and the gun goes off. As Riesen and Eli catch up, Alex inserts his hand into the gunshot would and fishes out the key]

Alex – Oh. Oh, God. Damn it.

[He gags as he finally pushes the key up and out the corpse’s mouth. Other eight-balls attack. Eli is killed. An eight-ball attacks Riesen, and without a weapon, Alex does the only thing he can think to do. He grabs the eight-ball from behind and starts an exorcism as the eight-ball struggles]
Alex – Sanctify this vessel. Protect this body and soul.
Riesen – What are you doing?

Alex – Sanctify this vessel. Come into the light. [The eight-ball stops struggling and the tattoos move, as Riesen watches in awe. Alex gets up as the dead eight-ball’s face changes to human]
Riesen – What did you just do? How did you do that?

Alex [to the former eight-ball, who has woken up] – Get up. Come on, get up.

[Back in the Vega control center]
Gates – You all right?

Claire – Yeah. These missions made my dad crazy. He used to hate not being on the ground.
Soldieer – Lady Riesen, they’re approaching target.
Claire – I want Zoe Holloway taken alive, but if she resists, shoot to kill.
Soldier – Ma’am.
Solder – Let’s move. Move.

[Claire and Gates watch the operation unfold on the monitors]
Soldier – Your side, your side.
Soldier – Covered.
Soldier – Come out! Show me your hands! Stand clear. [no one comes out. The soldiers appear to be alone]
Soldier [lowering his gun] – It’s clear. No sign of Holloway.
Claire – What?

Soldier – Here!

Soldier – Go! Move! [There is a ruckus as someone sees something]

Soldier – Movement! [a man runs into a hallway and is shot by a soldier]

Soldier – Get down on the ground! [Several people run from a doorway across the hall toward another doorway. One is Zoe]

Claire – Wait, wait, wait. That’s Zoe.
Zoe – Go, go, go!

[Gunshots are fired but no one is hit and Zoe and the others escape]

Soldier – Move it out!

Claire – Damn it, he had her.
Soldier – Left side! Left side!

[Gates turns away from the screen while Claire stares and sighs]

[Back in Mallory. Laurel and Michael are standing before the altar. Laurel is holding Michael’s hand over a candle flame]

Laurel – Michael, when you came to us, you were a stranger.Now you belong to us. Will you take the secrets and sins of our town into your heart?

Michael – Yes, I will. [ A golden light – like what came out of Lyrae] flows from Laurel to Michael]

Laurel – It should be me.

Michael – Your grace is a light that shines in the darkness. It’s what’s going to lead Father home. [He smiles as Laurel cries] Hey [He gently cups her face]

Laurel – No [She removes his hand]

[Outside the fire dies and eight-balls come over the wall]

Eight-ball [In Lishepus] – The fire is going out

[Inside the church people are getting nervous]

Laurel – It’s happening.
[Michael holds the knife in outstretched hands, aiming at his chest. Meanwhile Gabriel looks like he feels something. His connection to Michael has returned]

Michael – I, Michael, take the secrets and sins of my people into my heart. As I die, so do they.
[We see Gabriel become very agitated. He knows Michael is in danger. Michael plunges knife into his chest and Gabriel gasps as he reaches for his own chest. He feels Michael’s pain. Laurel sobs as Michael collapses in her arns]

Michael – Thank you.

[The congregation is worried as the eight-balls approach outside]
Laurel [cradling Michael’s head] – It’ll work. It has to.

Suddenly the bonfire is rekindled and flaming eight-balls run off. Laurel is sobbing over a dead Michael while Gabriel is in shock]

Gabriel – Michael. [His pain is physical and emotional]
[Cut to the flashback. Gabriel looks at Lyrae’s body]

Michael – Father’s will be done. [He pulls out his sword and offers it to Gabriel]
Gabriel – What are you doing?

Michael [kneeling] – Lyrae spoke the truth. I am Father’s sword. I, too, must be punished.
Gabriel (incredulously) – No.
Michael – Gabriel, please, I beg you.
Gabriel [throws away the sword] – Never. I’ll sooner take my own life. [He grabs Michael into a tight hug]
Michael – Forgive me. I shamed you for your mercy, for the light inside you, a light I covet. Mine has long since gone dim. I fear it will not kindle.
Gabriel [pulls away and cups his brother’s face] – It can, and it will. [As he pulls his hand away they both see the blood]
Michael – No more, brother. I’m done.
Gabriel [looking at his hand] – Perhaps we are never truly done.

[Back in Mallory, Michael is carried to the grave site in a simple wooden box. We can see his face and chest. He looks dead. They put the box into the ground]
Laurel – Thank you. [The townsfolk silently stand in honor of Michael’s sacrifice]

[In Vega, Claire strolls into the command center]
Claire – Sergeant Mills, please, take a seat. [Mills sits] I wanted to thank you for your efforts in tonight’s mission.
Mills [smiling] – Well, thank you, Lady Riesen.
Claire – Sergeant, why did you hesitate when you missed the shot? You could have captured Zoe.
Mills – It was dark. My team was close. I didn’t want to hit anyone else by mistake.
Claire – You don’t make mistakes. Expert marksman, best in your unit, I hear flawless on a 500-yard moving-target test. How far away was Zoe? 50, 60 yards?

Mills – Lady Riesen, I’m sorry I missed. But that’s not a crime, is it?

Claire – No. Not unless you did it on purpose.
Mills – What?

Gates [walking in] – Claire, I’ve got [Claire turns and gives him an icy stare. He presumes too much] I’m sorry, Lady Riesen. It can wait.
Mills – Look, I told you, it was dark. I didn’t want to hit one of my guys.
Claire – You had a clear shot.
Mills – Oh, yeah? What the hell do you know about guns?

Claire [to another soldier] – Corporal, give me your Beretta. [Takes weapon, checks the bullets and readies it] Now I’m no expert or anything, but at that range with a clear shot, even I wouldn’t have missed. Sergeant Mills, how many other traitors are there in my military? [She looks around. No one will meet her gaze]

Mills – Go to hell, you bitch.

[Claire shoots him in the thigh. Mills screams in pain]
Claire – Take him out. [She hads back the gun and walks out past Gates as they take Mills away]

[In New Delphi, Alex, Riesen and the former eight-ball try to escape back to the door]

Alex – Come on, the exit’s up this way. [Riesen is having difficulties] Come on. General, come on!

Riesen – No, I can’t go.
Alex – It’s right here, come on! Come on, General. Come on, you got it. [He pushes Riesen ahead of him and then reaches back for the former eight-ball, who is hunched over on the floor]
Former eight-ball – I can’t make it.
Alex – Come on, buddy.
Former eight-ball – I can’t. I can’t.
Alex – Shit! [Eight-balls overcome the former eight-ball]

[Camera view is now outside the door where Pete and Noma are waiting. They hear a bang and then Alex’s voice]

Alex – Open the door!

Noma – Alex?

Alex – Open the door!

[Noma opens door and Alex and Riesen stumble out]

Noma – Alex, you son of a bitch. I never thought you were coming out of there. [She hugs him]
Alex – Thanks, Noma.
[Noma kisses Alex]

Pete – Uh, who’s this guy?

Noma – Riesen?

Alex – General.

[Back at House Riesen. Claire is sitting at a table]
Soldier – Lady Riesen.

[Claire turns around and sees Gates is there, holding a folder. She waves for the solder to let him in]

Gates – Don’t tell me you’re praying.
Claire – [chuckles] No, I used to, but I don’t find comfort in it anymore. Faith helps little children sleep at night, but it won’t help me protect my city.
Gates – You know what? I did not recognize you before.
Claire – Hmm, I didn’t recognize myself. Curse of the Bambino lasted 86 years, right? Not 87. The Red Sox didn’t give up. Neither will I.
Gates – Well, I’d bet on you. [Claire smiles] You know what? A lot has changed, but not that smile.
Claire – So what did you want?

Gates – Um, surveillance camera caught a shot of your rebels when they escaped, and, uh, that’s one of the crates the Agri-tower guys use to deliver food. [It is a photograph of armed men and women transporting a simple wooden grate]
Claire – I don’t understand. They left behind all their gear and guns, and they took this why? What’s in it?

Gates [shrugging] – I don’t think it’s corn.

[In New Delphi, the painted-face guard leads Alex and company into Julian’s private quarters, where he is entertaining two of his mistresses]
Julian – Hey, my key do you have it?

Alex [holding up the disk] – Yes, I do.
Julian [apparently VERY pleased and surprised to see it] – No one’s made it out of there alive. Orpheus only escaped the underworld because he had a magic lyre. How did you do it?

Alex – Like you said, I’m a powerful weapon. Now I want my alliance.
Julian [seeing Riesen] – Oh, no, that man’s a murderer. He killed an angel in my city. Take him back to the asylum, where he belongs.
Alex – That is General Edward Riesen of Vega [Julian is shocked at that information]. Part of the pact between our two cities, which you now owe me, you’ll pardon all of his crimes.
Julian [nods, then addresses his men] – Find them quarters. You have your alliance. Welcome to New Delphi. All of you. [Everyone but Alex is led away. Alex hands the disk to Julian]
Alex – Let’s talk about Vega.

[Back in Mallory, we see Michael’s grave. There are rocks placed in a cairn on top of it. All of a sudden a black wing breaks through, is retracted, and then a hand pushes through. Michael climbs out. He looks at the knife scar on his chest, which then evaporates. He unfurls his wings and breathes the night air.]

[Wes is sleeping. He is startled awake at the sound of Michael’s voice]
Michael – Sweet dreams. [He is sitting in the window, a sword in his hand]
Wes – Jeez. Please, don’t hurt me.
Michael – Oh, but I will, Wes, much more than just hurt you. It’ll pale in comparison to what you did to Harper. You see, killing was once a specialty of mine. That’s all behind me now. But for you, I’d make an exception. Lay a hand on anyone else, and I’ll destroy you. Speak of this to no one. I’ll be watching. Am I understood?

[Wes nods and Michael jumps out of the window. Wes hurries to the window and sees Michael unfurl his wings and fly off]

[In Julian’s private chamber in New Delphi. He opens a combination safe and we see one of the Amphorae jars. He hesitates and then carefully removes it. Brief flashback to the view of the jars in their cabinet. He very gingerly sets it down and puts the disk on top in a recessed hole. It is apparently the lid. He breathes a sigh of relief – he has prevented the genie from getting out. He turns and behind a tattered American flag we see the battle ax from the flashback. He pulls it out and caresses it. Flashback to Lyrae juggling and flipping the ax, and Julian does the exact same moves. Close-up to Julian’s face and his eyes suddenly become black. Julian is an eight-ball! ]

Leave a Reply

